CHICAGO (September 27th, 2019) — For twenty five years, the Studs Terkel Community Media Awards have honored outstanding media professionals for excellent work in covering Chicago’s diverse communities. The more than 60 journalists who have received the award over the years have gone the extra mile in sourcing stories, finding neighborhood voices and putting issues into a thoughtful context. This year’s recipients are no different. They show whether digitally, in print, or on air, that storytelling excellence is not bound to a specific medium.

The 2019 Studs Terkel Community Media Award recipients are:

  • Deborah Douglas, MLK50: Justice through Journalism
  • Jerome McDonnell, Chicago Public Media
  • Britt Julious, Writer and Editor
  • Annie Sweeney, The Chicago Tribune

The Uplifting Voices Award goes to a supporter of innovative journalism and storytelling that lifts up community voices.

The 2019 Studs Terkel Uplifting Voices Award recipient is:

  • Jeff McCarter, Free Spirit Media

The NEW Ripple Effect Award goes to a journalist not based in Chicago, but whose work has made an impact in Chicago and beyond.

The Ripple Effect Award

  • Nikole Hannah-Jones, New York Times, 1619 Project

The night kicks off with a cocktail reception featuring music by DJ Ayana Contreras of Reclaimed Soul!

The awards will be presented from 5:30 to 8:30 p.m. October 17 at Zhou B. Art Center at 1029 W. 35th Street.

Purchase tickets or become a sponsor at:

Thanks to our sponsors: