CMA winners 2022

Public Narrative is excited to announce the winners of its 27th annual Community Media Awards, honoring community-centered journalism since 1994. The three awards given out are: the Studs Terkel Award, the Uplifting Voices Award, and the Ripple Effect Award. All awards recognize a body of work, rather than a single article or series.

Registration is now open for the 2022 Awards, set to take place via Zoom on Thursday, May 12, at 5:30 p.m. Register for the online awards ceremony at:

The Studs Terkel Award is granted to a Chicago-area journalist whose work is exemplary when it comes to Studs’ gift of elevating people’s voices above power. As Studs said in 2007, the award is meant for journalists who go the extra mile in reporting news “from the people who made Chicago, news that’s bottom up rather than up, down. … That’s what this is all about.” Past winners include Lee Bey, Maria Hinojosa, and Carol Marin.

The winners of the 2022 Studs Terkel Award are:

  • Bob Black, Photojournalist, formerly Chicago Sun-Times & Chicago Defender
  • Maya Dukmasova, Senior Reporter, Injustice Watch
  • Jacqueline Serrato, Barrio Journalist & Editor-in-Chief, South Side Weekly
  • María Inés Zamudio, Reporter, WBEZ

Started in 2014, the Uplifting Voices Award recognizes a Chicago-area artist, activist, poet, musician, educator, journalist, or community leader who uses their platform, influence or access for the advancement of Chicago communities that are under-resourced and under-heard. Past winners include Aurie Pennick and Tonika Lewis-Johnson. The winner of the 2022 Uplifting Voices Award is:

  • Shermann “Dilla” Thomas, Chicago Urban Historian & CEO of Chicago Mahogany Tours

Started in 2019, the Ripple Effect Award is granted to a journalist anywhere in the U.S. whose work has enlightened and inspired people in Chicago and across the country. Past winners include Nikole Hannah-Jones and Jamie Kalven. The winner of the 2022 Ripple Effect Award is:

  • Michelle Duster, Author, Professor and Public Historian

The winners will be honored on Thursday, May 12, at 5:30 p.m. CT on Zoom. Registration is free and open at

There’s no ticket cost for the Community Media Awards this year, which means more people will be able to attend. But that also means we’re relying on the support of those who are able to pay to make it happen. If you’re one of those people, you can support us in one of two ways:

  • Click here to make an online donation in any amount.
  • Click here to learn more about becoming an event sponsor.

Your contribution will enable us to keep offering community-engaged events, resources and training—and continue to honor people-centered journalism for years to come.

Click here to learn more about the awards. Click here to read the news as it was announced in Rob Feder’s media column.