Past Awards

2024 Community Media Awards

Stay tuned to watch the playback of our 28th Annual Community Media Awards, which took place on Thursday, May 9.

Find the photo album here.

The winners of the 2024 Studs Terkel Award are:

  • Bill Healy, journalist, Invisible Institute
  • Josh McGhee, investigative reporter, MindSite News
  • Darcel Rockett, reporter, Chicago Tribune
  • Irene Romulo, co-founder and development and community engagement coordinator, Cicero Independiente

The winners of the 2024 Uplifting Voices Award are:

  • Jacoby Cochran, Senior host, City Cast Chicago
  • Na-Tae' Thompson and DeAnna McLeary-Sherman, co-founders and executive directors, True Star Media

The winner of the 2023 Ripple Effect Award is:

  • Borderless Magazine, team

The winner of the 2024 People's Choice Established Media Maker Award is:

  • Dr. Shaniqua Jones, Purple Path

Thanks again to our 2024 Community Media Award sponsors (CHANGE AGENT) Northwestern University Medill School of Journalism, Media and Integrated Marketing Communications, (NARRATIVE SHIFTER) The Joyce Foundation, and (NARRATIVE SHIFTER) Alliance for Research in Chicagoland Communities. Thanks also to our media partner, WTTW.